Serving all of Michigan

Awards & Recognition

In Need of an Assault Defense Lawyer in East Lansing, Michigan?

At Ben Hall Law, our skilled East Lansing criminal defense attorneys and support staff know that when someone is charged with assault in Michigan, they face significant legal penalties if convicted.

While assault and battery charges are common, they can enormously impact an individual’s life. The severity of the charges can range from misdemeanors to felonies based on the facts, including whether a weapon was used, how injured the other person or parties are, and the individual’s criminal history.

We understand that our defense strategy and representation inside and outside the courtroom can mean a difference in our client’s freedom and future, and we take that responsibility very seriously. Contact us today to learn how our assault lawyers in East Lansing can help you pursue the best outcome for your unique case.

Assault Defense Law

What is Considered Assault and Battery in Michigan?

Our Ingham County assault attorneys know that “assault” and “battery” are often used together. However, they are two different actions.

Assault is a legal term that refers to a threat or intentional act that causes another person to fear physical harm. It does not necessarily involve physical contact, but it can encompass a wide range of verbal and physical behaviors that create a fear of harm in the victim.

Battery is a legal term that refers to the intentional and unlawful use of force or violence against another person. It involves the deliberate act of physically striking, touching, or causing physical harm to another person without their consent. Unlike assault, which centers on the threat or fear of physical harm, battery involves actual physical contact and harm.

What are the Penalties for Assault and Battery Charges in Michigan?

Each Michigan assault and battery charge and its penalties are unique to its circumstances and those charged with the crime.

The penalties will increase if the person accused of assault and battery:

  • Used a weapon.
  • Has a criminal history reflecting similar actions.
  • Severely injured or killed the victim.

Expected consequences for convictions may include fines, community service, monthly reporting, anger management counseling or classes, and jail time, depending on the level of the crime.

That includes:

  • Simple Assault/Assault & Battery

Jail time of up to 93 days, a $500 fine, or both.

The felony charges related to injuring a police officer, public utility employee, emergency personnel, or other government officials vary and may include jail time ranging from five years up to 20 years and fines beginning at $1,000 up to $20,000 depending on the severity of the crime.

  • Aggravated Assault

Aggravated Assault requires serious injuries to occur during the interaction, quantified by an injury that requires immediate medical treatment, causes disfigurement, impairs health, or impairs part of the body.

The maximum penalty for aggravated assault is one year in jail, a fine of $1,000, and court costs.

  • Assault with a Dangerous Weapon

Assault with a Dangerous Weapon or assault felonies require proof that a dangerous weapon — defined as an object used in a way likely to cause serious injury — was used to commit the assault and battery.

Dangerous weapons may include, but are not limited to:

  • Blunt objects.
  • Brass knuckles.
  • Clubs.
  • Explosive devices.
  • Firearms
  • Flashlights.
  • Improvised weapons.
  • Knives.
  • Tasers or stun guns.

The maximum penalty for assault with a dangerous weapon is up to four years in prison and fines up to $2,000, but can be increased if the offense happens in a school zone.

  • Assault by Strangulation

Assault by strangulation is a battery intended to impede another person’s breathing by applying pressure to the throat or neck or blocking their nose or mouth. Assault by strangulation is a felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.

  • Assault with Intent to Murder

Assault with Intent to Murder results from the accused’s actions occurring with the intent to kill without acting in defense. The maximum penalty for Assault with Intent to Murder is life in prison.

When you partner with Ben Hall Law, you partner with a former Michigan police officer, Ingham County prosecutor, and retired Marine Corps veterans who use each of their extensive skills and experience to advocate for clients to achieve positive results that impact their lives.

Our combined legal knowledge and history in law enforcement and public service allow our East Lansing criminal defense attorneys to analyze our client’s arrest circumstances accurately, including each detail involving police reports, officer statements, law enforcement body language, and how the prosecutor’s office will review the sum of their criminal charges based on the evidence and total case details.

At Ben Hall Law, your freedom and future are our priority.

Our Attorneys Also Focus on the Following Areas:

Contact Our Skilled Assault Defense Lawyers in East Lansing, Michigan, for Help Today

You are not just a client when you partner with Ben Hall Law. You are the client. We believe in giving each client the personal attention they deserve because you, your case, and your future are essential.

To learn how we can put our expert legal resources to work for you, contact our assault attorneys in Michigan to discuss your defense needs with trusted professionals who believe in you and your case by calling (877)-236-4255 or contacting us online.

Your fight is our fight. Let’s get started.

Frequently Asked Questions for Our Assault Defense Attorneys in East Lansing, Michigan

Is self-defense a valid defense in assault and battery cases in Michigan?

Michigan law allows for self-defense as a legal defense in assault and battery cases, provided that the force used was reasonable and necessary to protect oneself or others from imminent harm.

Can the victim drop assault and battery charges in Michigan?

The decision to pursue or drop charges is generally at the discretion of the prosecutor, not the victim. The victim’s cooperation may influence the case, but it’s ultimately up to the prosecutor to decide whether to proceed.

What is the statute of limitations for filing assault and battery charges in Michigan?

In Michigan, the statute of limitations for most assault and battery charges is generally six years, but it may vary depending on the specific charge and circumstances.

Should I take a plea bargain for my assault and battery charges?

Deciding whether to take a plea bargain for assault and battery charges is a significant legal decision, and it should be made after careful consideration of your specific circumstances. Our attorneys will consider the strength of the evidence against you before guiding you on whether a plea bargain may be an attractive option.

Can assault and battery charges be expunged in Michigan?

In Michigan, some convictions for assault and battery may be eligible for expungement under certain conditions, like waiting periods and meeting other criteria. We can help you understand how your criminal history impacts your case and whether there is anything you can do to expunge any previous convictions.